Iconic Diner Finds New Life With New Owners
All aboard! The Little Depot Diner is open again for breakfast and lunch every day, except Mondays.
Regulars at the Little Depot Diner have no doubt been cheered to learn they can once again stop by daily for breakfast and lunch at the downtown eatery.
The Salem News reports that newlyweds Ross and Alicia Scanlon of Medfield bought the diner from Jim and Judy Miles back in November and are living their dream. They have prior experience in food service and catering.
The Mileses originally closed the diner this past summer, but then reopened it in October, but just on weekends and for breakfast only.
The iconic diner in Peabody Square, across from the courthouse, has been in Peabody for more than 50 years and is housed inside a 1929 Worcester Lunch Car.
The car was first built in Worcester and spent time in Lynn first as Harry's Diner, then in Danvers as Cal's Diner, before settling in its current location in 1950.
Since then, the name has changed several times: Holly's Diner, Kurly's Diner, the Railroad Diner, the Whistlestop Diner and then finally the Little Depot Diner.
The Scanlons have made some changes to the menu, such as steamed hot dogs and rolls, but those train-shaped pancakes and the electric whistling locomotive aren't going anywhere.
The Scanlons tell the Salem News they do plan to move up to Peabody soon.